Tuesday, July 24, 2012

FNIH Announces New President

Dr. Maria Freire has been appointed as the President of the Foundation for the National Institutes of Health. Dr. Freire will begin her tenure on November 1, 2012.

Dr. Freire comes to the FNIH from the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation, where she served as President since 2008. Prior to joining the Lasker Foundation, Dr. Freire served as President and CEO of the Global Alliance for TB Drug Development from 2001 to 2008, Director of the Office of Technology Transfer at the National Institutes of Health from 1995 to 2001, and led the Office of Technology Development at the University of Maryland at Baltimore and the University of Maryland Baltimore County from 1989 to 1995.

The recipient of numerous awards, including the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Secretary's Award for Distinguished Service, The Arthur S. Flemming Award and The Bayh-Dole Award, Dr. Freire was also awarded a Fulbright Fellowship as well as two U.S. Congressional Science Fellowships.

Dr. Freire received her Bachelor of Science degree at the Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia in Lima, Peru and her PhD in Biophysics from the University of Virginia. She has also completed post-graduate work in immunology and virology at the University of Virginia and the University of Tennessee, respectively.

No comments:

Post a Comment